• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Coding Manuals: AMA vs. Ingenix

L

LunaRaevn

Hi there,
Gonna give myself away as a "newbie" newbie. So new I've not quite started yet. I'm a student wannabe at this point hoping that status changes real soon.
Anyway, I have noticed that there are two publishers of Procedure Coding Manuals. There's the AMA's Current Procedural Terminology, aka CPT manual. Then there's the Ingenix Current Procedural Coding manual.
I do not have either at this point. Amazon does not have a "Look Inside" feature for either one at this point. So, curious Kitty that I am does not get to see the difference.

How 'bout any of you? What differences can you share with me that you are aware of between the two? Which do you prefer and why?
And here's a biggie: when taking the CCO's PBC course, which of them is recommended or required?

Alicia Scott

Moderator, CCO Instructor
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
This is an excellent question actually. ;) My first choice is Elsevier for manuals. We also use Ingenix at the college but I don't really like the setup they have. One thing to note is that you can get standard and professional editions. In my opinion it is worth it to get the professional editions because it has color highlights. I also prefer spiral but that is just me. One of my students purchased a set from the AAPC and really liked them.

Now if you are a PBC student you might want to consider getting the same set that Laureen uses because of the Blitz videos. The page numbers will line up that way. I believe she uses an Elsevier set. If you want to know what the set looks like there is a picture of the here, just scroll down.
https://www.cco.us/physician-based-medical-coding-course

L