• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

CPC Complete Newbie

Michael Huntoon

Brief background:

Earned a Masters in Education in 1994. Haven't been to school since (as a student).
School always came very easy to me - very little studying, aced tests.
Taught full-time for 8 years at the elementary level.
Stay-at-home-Dad for several years with our four kids.

Several months ago, my wife and I decided it was time for me to go back to work. Having no desire to go back into the classroom, it was time to make some life decisions - specifically, a new career field.

After doing some research, I found that Medical Coding seemed to be a good growth field where I should be able to find employment fairly easily. I don't know any coders, personally, but from what I've read online I'm somewhat optimistic.

I immediately signed up with AAPC and took their Human Anatomy and Medical Terminology courses and did pretty well in each. I've since been working on the CPC certification prep program and I find that it's kicking my behind. As I mentioned above, school has always come easy to me. That's not to say that I loafed or didn't take things seriously, it's just that I've always had good comprehension and retention skills that have benefited me when taking tests. I don't know if it's the way this material is being presented, the fact that I've been out of the classroom as a student for over 20 years, I'm just getting older, or a combination of all three. Regardless, I'm somewhat concerned.