• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Greetings!

mrd362

Yes, I am really a penguin who codes.
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
ICD-10-CM Student
CCO Practicoder
Hello. I am new to CCO, and decide to join the forums. I am just starting my college classes for HIT, which first I chose medical coding to possible get my CPC-A in early next year if I do well in my classes. A little about myself. I am 23, bouncing from job to job (McDonald, burger king, target, Walmart, etc) with no solid goal for a career. I then landed a job at a local hospital working full time in the operating room dealing with supplies. I love it. I decide to go back to school because they offer tuition reimbursement, and decide to go into the health care field

I just have a few questions about coding.

1. Why does it say to never code from the index, but when I answer questions in my text book, and some question on the practice exam on CCO I get them right?

2. On the CPC exam, is it possible to get extra time? I have a disability and during college I have a special modification to allow me to get extra time. I know that coding need to be done in a time limit, but on test I usually take the text fast because I usually don't finish when I take my time. I just don't wan't to run out of time or fail the CPC exam and have to pay it to take it a 3rd time.

Mike

Ruth Sheets

CCO Moderator
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
It's great to have you join us here at CCO. Here's my response to your questions...