• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

DIFFICULT TIME PASSING THE CPC EXAM

Imecca Welsh

Hello,

My name is Mecca and I took the CPC exam twice and failed!!! The first time I failed by 4 points and this time i failed by 1 point. It broke my heart the 2nd time around because I studied very hard and made notations in my coding books. I walked out of the exam room feeling confident, knowing i passed. Now, I have to take it for the 3rd time. It is very important that I pass this exam..... I am ready to get in the world of coding and start a promising career.

Do anyone have any suggestions? I will not give up until i pass.

Laureen

Queen Instructor
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
Hi Imecca,

This is the standard advice I give to my Blitz students if they are coming to me after not passing. If you are not a Blitz student that is step number 1.

Retake Strategy

1) Video Clips
Bubbling & HighlightingTM
Handling Multiple Code Answers

2) CPC Practice Exams (Recommended in this order)
  1. AAPC Practice Exams - $30 each (3 online versions 50 questions each)
  2. 150 Question Practice Exam $37 (PDF exam booklet with mini study guide)
  3. CPC Coding Exam Review 2012: The Certification Step $50 (review book with 150 printed exam and 2 online exams)
3) CCO Club Sign-Up

ACTION STEPS:
1) Bubble & Highlight ENTIRE manual (watch video link above)
2) Watch EM vides with emphasis on use of tables in book (Separate purchase)
3) Watch video on how to handle multi code answers
3) Take AAPC Practice Exams
one at a time, 2 minutes per question in one sitting
score your self # correct divided by total questions (50)
go over all answers and think about how you could have attacked the question differently to be faster.