• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Q&A Malignant ascites primary site unkown

marcyreif

How do you code malignant ascites primary site unknown. I have coded it as 197.1 for malignant ascites and 199.1 for the primary site unknown. My counter part wants to code it 789.59 and 199.1?

Luna

Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
If I may ask: What is your thought process for using code 197.1 for the malignant ascites? (I'm a student and was curious about your reasoning. Right or Wrong, I like to understand what thoughts a person has to support a code they've chosen.)

marcyreif

If I may ask: What is your thought process for using code 197.1 for the malignant ascites? (I'm a student and was curious about your reasoning. Right or Wrong, I like to understand what thoughts a person has to support a code they've chosen.)
My thought process is that they are stating that the primary cancer site is unknown and I presume that the malignant acites is secondary neoplasm and if you look up malignant ascites it states cancer of the pertioneal fluid. And it seems to come up on all students homework when they are learning to code.

Luna

Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
Is this a test question with multiple answers you are debating? Like I said, I'm a student, so I'm just musing here to exercise my own reasoning skills. The "real" coders will jump in soon to correct any faulty reasoning I present.